Portion Control Ideas

I have definitely struggled over my life time with portion control. I eat way too quickly and don’t pay any attention to the taste. I feel like I’m capable of eating a lot of food and sometimes I don’t realize how much I’ve eaten until ITS ALL GONE.

So over the past month since I started this blog, I’ve really tried hard to watch my portions. I was keeping a food journal, which was great. I’ve actually fallen off with that in the last week. But I’m ready to get back into it, since I do see the results.

I do follow the basic portion control ideas when I eat. I think these are much easier than actually measuring or weighing. I do that also but it’s not always convenient or realistic.

  • Meat = a deck of cards
  • cheese= 3 dice (not a lot of cheese)
  • 1 cup of cereal = baseball
  • 1/2 cup of rice or pasta = light bulb
  • 1 tbsp of peanut butter, salad dressing or butter= poker chip

I don’t pay attention to measuring fruit and veggies because I feel like you can never have too many of those!!

Another strategies that I use is making my own 100 calorie snack bags. I think that the 100 calorie snack packs are a great idea but I don’t buy them because I think they’re over priced and really not the healthiest choices of snacks. Plus they just don’t satisfy my snack craving.

So when I buy a bag of almonds, cereal, raisins or any other snack that I can grab handfuls of I separate them into servings. I buy the Ziploc snack bags and portion the entire bag out. It really helps me from eating a whole box of cereal in two days.

I do buy the 100 calorie bags of popcorn. They are the best!! A whole bag of popcorn for only 100 calories.

P3230281

Leave a Reply

