Chicken Sausage and Veggie Pizza

My favorite pizza is veggie with gooey cheese and perfect crust. I don’t eat pizza that much but sometime I get a craving for it.

I wanted to try and make my own crust this time using Hodgson Mills Whole Wheat Flour, that I had just bought. There was a pizza crust recipe on the package so I gave it a try.

First I stated with the yeast. I mixed the a package of dry yeast with  1 cup of warm water and let it sit for 5 minutes.

P3120212

Then I mixed the dry ingredients. I used half whole wheat and half all purpose.

  • 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups of all purpose flour

P3120222

Then I mixed in 2 tsp of olive oil, 1 tsp of salt and the yeast mixture.

I tried not to over mix but it was hard to incorporate all the ingredients.

It turned out like this

P3120224

Then I let it sit in a warm spot (up in my bedroom) for about 20 minutes. Really it didn’t look that different when I brought it back to the kitchen. I thought i was going to increase in size but I didn’t notice a change.

While the pizza dough was “resting”, I cut up an onion, zucchini and a red pepper and roasted them in the oven with  a drizzle of olive oil.

Before Shot

P3120221

After Shot

P3120228

I also cut up some chicken sausage to add to the pizza.

P3120227

I rolled the dough out as best I could into a circle.

P3120229

Then we loaded it up!!!! Of course there was part-skim mozzarella and pizza sauce on there too.

P3120231

Cooked in the oven until the bottom browned up nicely.

P3120232

The chicken sausage and roasted veggies added great flavor. The crust was a little dry and didn’t have that much flavor. I’ll have to work on that recipe another time. I could experiment with pizza crust everyday!!

Leave a Reply

